Louisiana Division/City Archives
Special Collections

Research Guide

Louisiana Division/City Archives & Special Collections
New Orleans Public Library
219 Loyola Ave.
New Orleans, LA 70112
504-596-2610 archivist@nolalibrary.org.

General Guidelines

Requests for materials should be submitted by email in advance of your visit to archivist@nolalibrary.org.

Once the request has been received and processed, staff will let you know by email when the requested items are available and if there are any restrictions.

Requests should be sent at least two weeks prior to your visit. Requests after 5pm, on weekends and during holidays may not be processed until the next weekday.

If you have a specific date or date span you would like to view the records, please include that in your request and we will accommodate it if possible.

If you visit will be in the future, we are happy to review the request in advance and retrieve the materials closer to your visit.

Placing a Request

Original Materials

  • Please provide the following identifying information when applicable:
    • Collection Name
    • Date(s) of materials
    • Series
    • Box Number
    • Folder Number
    • Any relevant Call Numbers
    • Link to the Finding Aid

Blueprints

  • Please provide the following identifying information when applicable:
    • File Number
    • Address

Photographs

    General Interest Photograph Collection

      The General Interest Photograph Collection is a physical collection of approximately 5,500 photographs assembled by past Louisiana Division staff from a large number of unique City collections and small donations. The images are arranged in folders under specific subject headings. The images visible in this digital collection represent one sample photograph from each of the subject folders, and include a description of other images in the physical collection. To view the full folder of images for a subject, please send an e-mail request to archivist@nolalibrary.org.

  • Undigitized Images

      Images that have not been digitized should be requested by emailing the archivist at archivist@nolalibrary.org.in advance of your visit

      • Please provide the following identifying information when applicable:
        • Collection Name
        • Date(s) of materials
        • Any relevant Call Numbers
        • Link to the Finding Aid
        • Description of items you are interested in

Court Records

    Items must requested in advance of your visit, please contact the archivist at archivist@nolalibrary for more details.

New Orleans Police Department Arrest Records (1881-1966)

    The volumes for 1881-1947 are unavailable due to condition issues.

    The volumes for 1948-1959 are available to patrons and may be accessed by microfilm.

    The volumes for 1960-1966 are unavailable due to condition, but can be accessed by staff. For informaiton on these years, please contact the archivist.

    Arrests by the Homicide Division, 1955-1962) and the Tactical Unit (1961-1967) also are recorded in separate volumes. These are in original format and must be requested ahead of your visit.

Vertical Files, Books, City Documents and Microfilm

    These items do not need to be requested in advance of your visit.

    If you will be requesting a large number of items, items from the basement or visiting on a weekend, you are welcome to call or email ahead of your visit.

Reproduction

    The majority of materials can be photographed by patrons using non-flash photography. Louisiana Division/City Archives & Special Collections staff will make the final determination on the item's suitability for reproduction.

    Microfilm can be viewed, photocopied or scanned creating a digital image. If you would like to create a scan, please bring a flash drive.

    The department does not provide reproduction services such as scanning or photocopying for original materials. Some duplication services are available for images and other graphical materials. The details are outlined on our Reproductions and Release page.

    We provide a limited search and copy service for off site patrons.

    Materials cannot be sent off site for duplication.

    A selection of microfilm in our Early Records Collection is available for Inter Library Loan. Please consult with the archivist before requesting it thru your library.

    If you have questions about duplicating Building plans, please call us at 504-596-2610.

Circulation

    Materials in the collection do not circulate and are available for in house use only.

    Materials are not available thru Inter Library Loan, excepting some microfilm in our Early Records Collection.

Research Services

    The Louisiana Division/City Archives & Special Collections does not provide in depth research services. We are unable to conduct genealogy research or in dpeth subject specific research for patrons.

    We recommend contacting one of the local professional genealogy services or a nearby university for off site research assistance.


Return to Louisiana Division/City Archives & Special Collections

Back to Nutrias Home

CB 03/2019